The Berkshire Lieutenancy

The King's Award for Enterprise

The King’s Awards for Enterprise are the highest accolade for outstanding achievement by British businesses.

The King’s Awards for Enterprise are free to enter. You can apply for more than one category.

You can now apply for the 2025 Awards until 1pm on 12 September 2024.

Honouring outstanding UK companies, they encourage the development of British business and recognise companies in four categories:

International trade

Demonstrating growth in overseas earnings.


Proven commercial success through innovative products or services.

Sustainable development

Integrating environmental, social, economic and management aspects of sustainable development into their business.

Promoting opportunity (through social mobility)

Having a social mobility programme running for at least two years, supporting disadvantaged people improve their jobs skills and chances of finding work.

The awards are made each year by The King, on the advice of the Prime Minister assisted by an Advisory Committee that includes representatives of Government, industry and commerce, and the trade unions. Winners enjoy a range of benefits, including worldwide recognition and extensive press coverage.

Winners of the award are:

  • invited to a Royal reception
  • presented with the award by the Lord-Lieutenant
  • able to fly The King’s Awards flag at their main office, and use the emblem on marketing materials (for example, packaging, advertisements, stationery and website
  • given a Grant of Appointment (an official certificate) and a commemorative crystal trophy.

The awards are valid for five years.

Winners are announced in May. Winners are informed shortly before the announcement and invited to a reception at Buckingham Palace, which takes place in the summer. Berkshire businesses normally receive the Award and their Grant of Appointment from the Lord-Lieutenant at a special ceremony normally arranged at the winner’s headquarters.

How to apply for the award

Businesses are able to apply for the award directly. You can find out more about how to nominate for the next round of awards and make an online application here.