The Berkshire Lieutenancy

The King's Award for Voluntary Service

The King’s Award for Voluntary Service runs in cycles, starting with nominations (between 1 September – 1 December), followed by local and national assessments. Winners are announced on The King’s birthday on 14 November the following year.

Nominations for the 2025 KAVS open on 1 September 2024.

The King’s Award for Voluntary Service is the highest award given to volunteer groups across the UK for outstanding work in their local communities for the benefit of others. The Lieutenancy is heavily involved in promoting and organising these awards in the county. In recent years, many voluntary groups in Berkshire have received this prestigious award.

The annual award – the equivalent of an MBE – was created by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in 2002 to celebrate her Golden Jubilee. Winning groups receive a certificate signed by The King and a commemorative crystal pillar. These are presented by the Lord-Lieutenant at a special ceremony arranged by the Lieutenancy.

This major UK national honour sets the national benchmark for excellence in volunteering. Each nomination is judged on the benefits it gives to the local community. There is not a set number of winners in a sector of volunteering work or region of the country.

You are actively encouraged to nominate any volunteer group in Berkshire if you know about the work they do and believe it should be honoured in this way.

How to nominate a volunteer group for the award

The King’s Awards for Voluntary Service are intended for groups that are led by volunteers and provide a benefit for local communities.

The group must:

  • be made up of three or more people
  • be based in the UK, Channel Islands or the Isle of Man
  • have been in operation for at least three years before nomination
  • have over half its volunteers eligible to reside in the UK
  • be led by volunteers, not by paid staff; over half its members should be volunteers
  • provide a specific and direct benefit to the local community.

A comprehensive guide to nominations and a nomination form can be found on The King’s Award for Voluntary Service website.

Past winners from Berkshire